Have you worked here long?

So the first week is done! Was on the ward for two days plus had some boring lectures and some emergency course which was a bit rubbish. So there are 30 of us starting, and 4 on my ward, and so far they seem so lush. We went on another social on Friday night and we got on really well so I just hope that continues. The four on my ward are cool too, two boys and two girls. I normally get on better with guys than girls (unless I’m in a relationship with them!) so I’m glad we have an even number of each as girls are sometimes a bit too much when all together.

The ward was really friendly and the nurses said they would look after us and keep us right so here’s hoping! It’s all very novel and exciting, ordering tests, writing referrals and discharges, clerking in my own patients, introducing myself as a doctor, and writing my first prescriptions!!!! Got the pharmacist to check everything I was doing on my first one because it was well scary to sign and take responsibility for it, I think ward pharmacists are my new favourite group of professionals! Life savers.

My first ever patient as a doctor when we were chatting come out with the phrase dreaded by all doctors on their first day…’so have you worked here long?’ I feel she may have smelt my fear at the slight amount of responsibility I had been given! Or maybe I just look really youthful and too young to be qualified?!

So on Wednesday our existing f1 buddies leave the ward and we officially take over…so that’ll be a day of sheer panic! And my first late shift is Thursday so hopefully I’ll survive that too! But anyway, so far, so good.

2 thoughts on “Have you worked here long?

  1. Good luck with the job Geeps.
    It’s certainly possible to be a good doctor with bipolar disorder, I think maybe we empathise better than some doctors do. But it’s not an easy career for anyone, particularly in the current political climate. Look after yourself, keep staying well your priority, because unfortunately your well-being won’t be anyone else’s priority. I loved my surgical house job (yes, I know, I’m very old) although there were far fewer guidelines and far more fun in those days. I completely failed to get a cannula in anyone for the first two weeks, but they got easier. And as far as I know I didn’t kill anyone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment